Recent Searches
Fraser Island West Coast BBQ Lunch Cruise from Hervey Bay Including Kayaking and Swimming

Fraser Island West Coast BBQ Lunch Cruise from Hervey Bay Including Kayaking and Swimming

Urangan, Australia
icon5 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
icon5 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Loading available options...

icon5 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here


Set sail for a quintessential Aussie beach adventure with this 5-hour cruise to beautiful Fraser Island. Look out for dolphins and sea turtles as you cruise out across Hervey Bay, then enjoy up to 2 hours of free time to explore Fraser Island. Make the most of optional activities like kayaking, fishing or snorkeling; cool off with a swim or stroll along the fine sandy beaches. Back on-board, tuck into a scrumptious BBQ lunch, including fresh Hervey Bay prawns, as you float back to the mainland.
  • Spot wild dolphins and sea turtles on a cruise across Hervey Bay
  • Get active with optional activities like kayaking, snorkelling and swimming
  • Tuck into an Aussie-style BBQ lunch on-board
  • Great value tour includes hotel pick-up, lunch and optional activities
Saved to wishlist!
All activities
Coffee and/or Tea
Local guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks, unless specified
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Great Sandy Straits Marina Urangan Hervey Bay , 17 Buccaneer Dr, Urangan QLD 4655, Australia

We're located in the Great Sandy Straits Marina. There's plenty of free car parking with no time limit. Please type in 'Whalesong Cruises' into Google maps, and it'll bring you directly to the carpark you need to park in. We are nestled between the Mantra Hotel and the Breakfree Resort.

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.We pick up from local resorts, hotels, motels and caravan parks. We don't pick up from Air BnBs (unless they are close to the Esplanade) due to time constraints and vast spread of locations. Pick up (and drop off) times depend on where you're staying in the Bay. In general, pick up times are approx. Point Vernon/Pialba: 8:05am - 8:15am, Scarness: 8:15am - 8:20am, Torquay: 8:20am - 8:30am, Urangan: 8:30am - 8:40am. Please call to verify your pick up address, at least 24 hours before the cruise.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Dietary requirements catered for, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Whalesong Cruises
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


99 Reviews
2 stars
1 star

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 99 reviews
Well used 4 hours
, Feb 2022
4 hours was a perfect duration for the trip. It was a short trip to the island on calm water. We did snorkelling, kayaking, swimming and jet boat experience and adequately exhausted by the end ready for lunch. Not much coral or fish in the area. Note: beverages are extra charge. They no longer provide mouth piece for snorkelling due to covid and have limited sizing for flippers so recommend you bring a set if you want to do snorkelling.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thanks for the 5 star review, Yuri. Our 5 hour trip certainly recharges you as there are so many different things to do! It's the perfect duration for the cruise. Yes, you're definitely tired by the end of it and will sleep well that night! Rather than use disposable mouth pieces, we decided to not offer them for the snorkelling, during COVID. The bottom is sandy (not coral) so there's not a lot to see. We see the occasional flathead but it mostly bait fish and sting rays we're seeing under water. This is why it's not a dedicated snorkelling trip, but rather a bit of everything trip. There are other businesses in the area that run snorkelling trips. Thanks again for the review and for highlighting these factors as it helps us to set the correct expectations for what's included (and not included) in the cruise.
Perfect day
, Jan 2022
Lovely relaxing day, great location, excellent lunch, very helpful deck crew.Would do it again.Time at beach perfect
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thanks for the 5 star review, Steph! Great to see you had a great time and would do it again. We hope to see you again sometime!
The location was...
, Dec 2021
The location was fantastic and availability of activities were awesome. Lunch was disappointing with crew having trouble in catering for children needs with food choices.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thanks for taking time to write a review on our Beach + BBQ cruise. I'm disappointed to hear you thought the crew had trouble catering for children's needs with food choices - especially as you said the location and cruise were fantastic and awesome, therefore, only rated us 3 out of 5 stars due to a child not liking their lunch!? We always cater to dietary requirements, if we know about them beforehand. Whilst we do usually have additional food on board for any unforeseen vegans/vegetarians and coeliacs we hadn't been made aware of, we don't know what we don't know. The lunch consists of steak, sausages (of differing flavours), prawns, green salad, greek salad, potato salad and bread rolls. All very simple, nutritious and delicious. Most children are more than happy with the selection and can find something they'd eat out of all that's available. Of course, if there's something more to the story, please contact me directly to discuss exactly what happened. I need to see what can be done to prevent this from happening in future. However, if it's because your child is a fussy eater, I recommend taking your own food onto any future excursions you may take together. It seems a shame to let the child's meal, ruin your day...especially when everything else was great for you.
Fab trip to Fraser Island beach
, Apr 2021
It was great! Definitely something to do when it is not whale watching season! Great crew, awesome beach activities, amazing food... and just a long enough morning boat trip! Will definitely do it again! Highly recommended!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
We highly recommend it too Chantelle! And we love welcoming return guests back on board so we will definitely keep an eye out for you during the next Fraser Island BBQ season! Until then, please do join us for Whale Watching :)
Great trip
, Apr 2021
Great relaxing day out, great service and friendly helpful staff. Great lunch and the ski biscuit was a nice surprise for the kids
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Thanks so much for the great review Susan! It absolutely is a relaxing day if that is what you are hoping for, otherwise, it can be action packed! For the big kids too :)
1 traveler found this review helpful
Fun, delicious, peaceful
, Mar 2021
We had such a lovely day! Truely would do it again. It was the highlight of our holiday. The ride and the food and service was amazing. Thank you so much again, Lisa
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Thank you Lisa! We would love to have you on board again! It certainly is a highlight for those that can't make it over to Fraser Island for a full day, but do have the time to spend some time with us! So happy you had such an amazing time :)
Great family day out
, Dec 2020
Excellent family day out with 3 kids age 3,6 and 9.They loved all the water activities and great food
icon Response from Host , Jan 2021
Perfect Deirdre! It is an excellent family day out with kids of all ages. So glad you all enjoyed it :)
Great family day out
, Dec 2020
We had a family of 8 adults, a 2yr old and a 3month old baby. The staff were very accommodating and helpful, I would highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2021
So glad you were all able to enjoy it! It certainly is fun for everyone in the family :)
Island style
, Feb 2020
Lovely relaxed day on an exquisite island. Great lunch and water sports. We had great fun being pulled behind the dingy on a large chair! Paddles around in the water. Great boat with clean good facilities. Loved our day.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Great to hear you love your day with us on our Fraser Island Beach + BBQ cruise. Fortunately for us, nature has provided the incredible backdrop and we're privileged to be able to show it off to everyone! Hope to see you again sometime!
The tour was wonderful with only a...
, Aug 2018
The tour was wonderful with only a small number of bookings they still continued with the day tour
This was a nice trip for a small...
Michael D
, Feb 2018
This was a nice trip for a small group to a quiet beach. Lunch was ok, not great. Staff was excellent.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations