Recent Searches
Clear

Hervey Bay Whale Watching Experience

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Hervey Bay, Australia
36

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 4 more

Overview

Enjoy an unforgettable close encounter with the marine life of Hervey Bay on this 4-5-hour cruise, including hotel pick-up. Step aboard the specially designed MV Whalesong and discover the bay’s majestic whales and dolphins with the help of an expert crew. As well as guaranteed whale sightings, you’ll have chance to spot dolphins, sea turtles and endangered dugong, plus a rainbow of tropical fish.
  • Choice of morning or afternoon departure
  • Close encounter with wildlife
  • Tour is wheelchair accessible
  • Free hotel pickup and drop-off included
  • Informative, friendly and professional guide
Saved to wishlist!
AM departure - Morning tea and buffet lunch
PM departure - Antipasto platter (afternoon tea) and Buffet dinner
Multi-level viewing decks
Expert commentary - translated by our multilingual crew (German, French, Spanish, Italian)
Hydrophone and underwater cameras to listen to and view the Humpback Whales
Hotel pickup and drop-off from Hervey Bay accommodations
Filtered water, tea, herbal tea, coffee and milo
Drinks and snacks (available for purchase on board)
Souvenirs (available for purchase on board)

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We pick up from local resorts, hotels, motels and caravan parks. We don't pick up from Air BnBs (unless they are close to the Esplanade) due to time constraints and vast spread of locations. Pick up (and drop off) times depend on where you're staying in the Bay.

In general, pick up times for the morning cruise are approx:
* Point Vernon/Pialba: 7:05am - 7:15am, Scarness: 7:15am - 7:20am, Torquay: 7:20am - 7:30am, Urangan: 7:30am - 7:40am. Please call to verify your pick up address, at least 24 hours before the cruise.

In general, pick up times for the afternoon cruise are approx:
* Point Vernon/Pialba: 1:05pm - 1:15pm, Scarness: 1:15pm - 1:20pm, Torquay: 1:20pm - 1:30pm, Urangan: 1:30pm - 1:40pm. Please call to verify your pick up address, at least 24 hours before the cruise.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Subject to favorable weather conditions. If canceled due to poor weather, you will be given the option of an alternative date
  • We recommend bringing comfortable shoes, sunscreen, sunglasses and a hat
  • In the event that no whales are spotted, you will receive a return ticket to come again at a future date
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 60 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Whalesong Cruises

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Hervey Bay Whale Watching Experience?
A:
The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Hervey Bay Whale Watching Experience.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Hervey Bay Whale Watching Experience?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Hervey Bay Whale Watching Experience.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Hervey Bay Whale Watching Experience?
A:
The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Hervey Bay Whale Watching Experience.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Hervey Bay Whale Watching Experience?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Hervey Bay Whale Watching Experience.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Hervey Bay Whale Watching Experience?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 60 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Hervey Bay Whale Watching Experience.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

5.0
star-5
193 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 193 reviews
star-5
Magical
Judith_H
, Dec 2020
I took my 2 granddaughter's on this cruise and we were not let down. We had an amazing 5 hours, good food, great staff and lots of whale entertainment.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
So great to see you enjoyed your time Whale watching with us. It's certainly a great trip for all ages! Thanks for choosing Whalesong.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
An interesting afternoon out
Nikki_S
, Nov 2020
The day was fantastic.... seen heaps of whales and calves. They certainly in oi w how to but on a show. Unfortunately, the trip was tainted with the meal serviced ( should have been pre made) staff wouldn't be able to stuff their faces and play with their hair while preparing it. All and area away from people eating for the weak stomached.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Great to see you enjoyed your day with u and saw heaps of whales and calves. Sometimes they don't like to put on a show for us, but it sounds like you had a great 'show' on the trip you were on. Please let me know when you cruised with us. I'd love to know what happened with the food service and who was responsible. I completely agree, if the crew were playing with their hair AND eating in front of you, that would've made my stomach churn also. We are extremely strict with our food hygiene standards and I apologise for this occurrence. Please help me get to the bottom of it to ensure it doesn't happen again (I have a feeling I know who the only crew member is to have done something like this - rest assured, we terminated her contract at the end of whale watching season and she is no longer working with us). Appreciate your assistance in this matter.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Breath Taking
MarjaLiisa_R
, Oct 2020
Absolutely amazing! Even though we saw whale's a far off for the first few hours we eventually saw them up close and personal..... The wait was worthwhile.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Thanks for the 5 star review. Sometimes, especially later in the season, the whales can be elusive and may not want to interact with us much. Thankfully, the skipper has patience and it usually pays off. We appreciate you choosing to cruise with us on Whalesong!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Whale watching
Ian_Warren
, Sep 2020
Very good. Book with whale song. Good boat and excellent crew. Reasonably priced. I would recommend this boat to anyone
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
We absolutely are reasonably priced for such an amazing experience. And if you book direct with us, you will receive bonus on board credit to purchase something from our excellent crew! Thanks Ian :)
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonderful Whales
Jane_C
, Sep 2020
Staff very friendly and helpful. Lots of sanitising handrails etc. Great that we saw a couple of whale groups. Plenty of time to see them. The commentary could be clearer and often unable to be heard from outside speakers. Still a great experience
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Up close and personal 🐋
Anne_Mckenzie
, Aug 2020
Great time spent whale watching with Whalesong. Crew were great very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended Can’t wait to do it again
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
And we can't wait to have you back on again! Thanks for the high recommendation and for taking the time to review us (as well as choosing to cruise with us). So great to see you were well looked after by our fabulous crew!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Whale of a time
Jacqueline W
, Sep 2019
Loved the personal attention on a smaller boat. This was my second trip and I 'll be back for a third as every trip is different.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Thanks for the great review. Our crew do such a terrific job of attending to every single person on the boat...having a medium sized boat and limiting our numbers to 60% of our actual capacity helps with that. We look forward to having you back for a third time!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Highly recommend
Cfoo2019
, Jul 2019
Very knowledgeable captain providing info gems about whales - fantastic learning experience and excellent approach to seeing whales up close in their natural habitat! There were also a pod of dolphins tagging along with us during our outing too which adds to the entire experience!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
We often find the humpback whales interacting with dolphins. It's such a terrific experience, isn't it!? We're so fortunate to be able to witness these beauties in their natural habitat. I'm glad you found it a fantastic learning experience too! At Whalesong, we're all about education, inspiration and joy. Thanks for the recommendation!
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Great experience. Crew very mindful...
Alana M
, Sep 2017
Great experience. Crew very mindful of safety of passengers. Captain offered refund or change of day before boarding as weather was rough on the day of our trip. Saw lots of whales. Small group of passengers, not overcrowded. Food was basic but not really the focus of the trip.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fantastic day....... Lots of...
Valerie W
, Aug 2017
Fantastic day....... Lots of whales and dolphins too. A very personal trip. The owner is very conscientious and wants everyone to have an amazing day. Breakfast coffee, tea, fruit and cake and biscuits was very appreciated as I had had a two hour journey. Lunch was also very good on this trip. Overall? Excellent
HelpfulHelpful

Explore Similar Things to Do